Covid reopens French border

Covid - Borders are officially reopening !

covid classification of countries by zone french borders

The list of countries that determines which travellers arriving in France from 9 June will be able to do without a PCR test, and which will remain subject to restrictions, has been published. They are classified as green, orange and red according to the health situation in each country. We take stock of the situation per country with regard to Covid-19.

As of 9 June, "Europeans who have been vaccinated will be able to come to France without a PCR test", announced Jean-Baptiste Djebbari, Minister of Transport, in early June.

As announced several weeks ago, a list of countries classified according to three types of zones has been drawn up, specifying the procedures for travelling to and from abroad. This classification will come into force on 9 June. For Europeans, travel will be made easier from 1 July with a health passport including proof of vaccination, a negative test result or proof of recovery from Covid-19 less than six months old.

The list of countries classified as green, orange and red for travelling abroad this summer
From 9 June, the flow of travellers between France and foreign countries will be reopened according to variable modalities depending on the health situation of the countries classified by a colour code (green, orange and red) and on the vaccination. Jean-Baptiste Lemoyne unveiled the list of countries according to their colour on 4 June.

Countries in green, no active virus circulation, no variants of concern identified: European Space countries, Australia, South Korea, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Singapore. There is no active circulation of the virus and no variants of concern have been identified. If you are arriving from these countries, there are no compelling reasons to visit. And you will only need to provide proof of a negative test (PCR or antigenic) less than 72 hours old if you are not vaccinated. Those who are vaccinated will not need to be tested. Vaccinated people are those who have been fully vaccinated for at least 14 days at the time of travel with Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca vaccines (and for four weeks for Johnson & Johnson vaccine).

The orange countries are those where the virus is under control but still circulating: the United States, Canada, North African countries and all countries not listed in the green and red countries. Vaccinated tourists will have to provide a negative PCR test less than 72 hours old or an antigen test less than 48 hours old. Non-vaccinated people will only be able to come to France for a compelling reason with a PCR test less than 72 hours old or an antigenic test less than 48 hours old. They will have to self-isolate for seven days.
Countries in red, the virus is actively circulating and the presence of variants is a concern: Argentina, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, India, Nepal, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Turkey, Uruguay. It is strongly recommended - but not forbidden - not to travel to the countries in red. Vaccinated persons may only travel for compelling reasons, not for tourism. They will be required to present a PCR or antigen test that is less than 48 hours old. A ten-day quarantine will be imposed on arrival on French soil with control by law enforcement.

Mandatory isolation for travellers from the UK
France has taken the decision to implement "mandatory isolation" for people coming from the UK from Monday May 2021. The spread of the Indian variant is causing a rise in infections and thus raising fears of a new wave, despite the vaccination campaign being at an advanced stage. This compulsory quarantine lasts 7 days and a compelling reason remains required "for non-resident foreign nationals travelling to France from the UK". A 48-hour PCR or antigen test is also required for "anyone joining France from the UK".

A sanitary pass to travel this Summer
From 1 July, the European Health Passport will come into force for travel in the Member States this summer. The Minister for Foreign Affairs has recalled the three uses of the health certificate. The certificate will enable the holder to present a negative test for Covid-19, as well as a vaccination certificate. Finally, the health passport will also serve as proof if the user was infected between two weeks and six months before.

Which countries have tighter border controls
In order to fight the spread of Covid-19, the government has extended the list of countries for which quarantine is mandatory upon return to France. Government spokesman Gabriel Attal had announced on Wednesday that the mandatory ten-day quarantine on arrival in France would be extended to five more countries. Finally, this measure applies to four additional destinations, from Sunday 16 May: Bahrain, Colombia, Costa Rica, Uruguay.
The 10-day quarantine has already been imposed on people from the following five countries since 24 April: India, Brazil, Argentina, Chile and South Africa. And since 8 May, those coming from Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Turkey and Pakistan.
Travellers arriving from all these countries must show proof of a PCR test less than 36 hours old, or a negative PCR test less than 72 hours old with a negative antigen test less than 24 hours old. "A system of verification" of the existence of a quarantine area has been set up and checks on compliance with the quarantine are carried out at home by the national police or gendarmerie, the statement said. Offenders are liable to a fine of up to 1,500 euros.

Source de l'article :

health measures covid frontiere